Georges Jacob

Pump organ
Wedding marches
Wedding music
by popularity
12 Pieces for Organ3 Pièces pour orgue ou harmonium4 Pieces for OrganAndantino en mi bémol majeurDeuxième suite religieuseEntrée de mariageImpressions dominicalesLes heures bourguignonnesOrgan SymphonyPastoralePremière suite religieuse
Georges (Armand Paul) Jacob (19 August 1877 – 28 December 1950) was a French organist, improviser and composer.
Born in Paris, Georges Paul made his first musical studies at the École Niedermeyer de Paris. After he joined the Conservatoire de Paris in 1896, he won a First prize in organ in 1900, in Alexandre Guilmant's class. From 1892 to 1912, G. Jacob gave organ recitals, which were very well attended at the Schola Cantorum de Paris. His aim was to bring out the best of both ancient and modern works of organ literature.
As a composer, he has already written and published many works. In addition, he began publishing, with an explanatory commentary, the great works for organ of J.-S. Bach.
From 1902 to 1914, he was a piano teacher at the Schola Cantorum. Organist and Kapellmeister of Notre-Dame-de-la-Gare [fr] from 1897 to 1903, organist of the great organ of the Église Saint-Louis-d'Antin [fr] from 1903 to 1906, he then held the position of organist and Kapellmeister of the Église Saint-Ferdinand-des-Ternes [fr], from 1907 to his death in 1950.
In 1922, he succeeded Joseph Bonnet as organist of the Orchestre de la Société des Concerts du Conservatoire.
Georges Jacob died in Paris on 28 December 1950 and was buried in the Père Lachaise Cemetery (2nd division).
Several melodies and hymns.