Jan Kalivoda

Piano four hands
Mixed chorus
by popularity


2 Adagios, Op.2252 Chansons styriens, Op.2222 Duos progressifs et concertants, Op.702 Fest-Märsche, Op.2273 Amusemens en forme des rondeaux, Op.403 Duets, Op.1813 Duos faciles et brillants, Op.2433 Duos for Two Violins, Op.1163 Easy Duos, Op.1783 Easy Duos, Op.1793 Easy Duos, Op.1803 Etudes for Violin, Op.643 Gesänge, Op.913 Gesänge, Op.983 Mazurkas, Op.1644 Gesänge, Op.1244 Lieder, Op.1894 Lieder, Op.2074 Valses brillantes, Op.1035 Contredanses, Op.886 Airs styriens, Op.1566 Caprices ou études, Op.876 Gesänge, Op.546 Gesänge, Op.796 Lieder, Op.1126 Lieder, Op.676 Nocturnes, Op.186


Allegro, Op.162


Concert Variations, Op.22Concertante for Flute, Violin and Cello, Op.48Concertante, Op.20


Dances for Piano, Op.127Der Sennin Heimweh, Op.236Deutsches Te Deum, WoO VI/26Divertissement for Piano 4 Hands, Op.203Divertissement in F major, Op.28Divertissement, Op.66Duets for Violin and Viola, Op.208Duo for 2 Violins in C major, Op.50


Grand Duo brillant, Op.234




Impromptu, Op.167In der SchenkeIntroduction et grand polka en forme de rondeau, Op.196Introduction et polka, Op.163Introduction et rondeau, Op.123Introduction et Rondeau, Op.51




Mass in G major, WoO VI/2Morceau de Salon, Op.228


Oboe Concertino, Op.110Overture No.1, Op.38Overture No.10, Op.142Overture No.17, Op.242Overture No.2, Op.44Overture No.3, Op.55Overture No.7, Op.101Overture No.8, Op.108Overture No.9, Op.126


Piano Sonata, Op.176Piano Trio No.1, Op.121Piano Trio No.2, Op.130Piano Trio No.3, Op.200Polonaise, Op.165Potpourri No.2, Op.36


Scherzo, Op.141Sonata for Piano 4-hands, Op.135Souvenir de Cherubini, Op.204String Quartet No.1, Op.61String Quartet No.2, Op.62String Quartet No.3, Op.90Symphony No.1, Op.7Symphony No.2, Op.17Symphony No.5, Op.106


Tyroler Walzer


Valse brillante, Op.140Variations brillantes, Op.14Variations brillantes, Op.18Variations brillantes, Op.89Violin Concertino No.1, Op.15Violin Concertino No.2, Op.30Violin Concertino No.3, Op.72Violin Concertino No.4, Op.100Violin Concertino No.5, Op.133Violin Concertino No.6, Op.151Violin Concerto No.1, Op.9


Waltz in C major, Op.27Waltz in G major, Op.169
Jan Křtitel Václav Kalivodus (Johann Baptist Wenzel Kalliwoda in German) (February 21, 1801 – December 3, 1866) was a composer, conductor and violinist of Bohemian birth.
Kalivoda was born in Prague in 1801 and as early as 1811 started studying violin and composition at the Prague Conservatory. He made his debut as a violinist at the age of 14. Upon completion of his studies he became a member of the Prague Opera Orchestra. His diploma from the Conservatory read "Excellent player solo or in an orchestra...shows great talent in composition." More prosperous tours as a violinist, for instance to Linz and Munich, followed.
Kalivoda lived what appears to have been a stable, hardworking musical life. For over forty years, from 1822 to 1865, he held the post of conductor at the court of Prince Karl Egon II of Fürstenberg and his successor in Donaueschingen (where the Danube begins in the Black Forest). His duties there included not only the writing of and care for the music of the court and church, but also the management and conducting of a choir, and annual musical journeys for education. These manifold responsibilities may have foreshortened his life. In any case, he went into retirement in 1865, and a year later he died, of a heart attack in Karlsruhe.
His son Wilhelm Kalliwoda (1827–1893) continued his father's career, and worked as Kapellmeister for the Baden court in Karlsruhe, also composing (an Impromptu for piano was published as his opus 3 in Leipzig in 1854 ). During the 1850s he is mentioned by Alan Walker as a conductor at the Lower Rhenish Music Festival.
Kalivoda "represents a sort of symphonic 'missing link' between Beethoven and Schumann," writes the critic David Hurwitz, founder of Classics Today. "His melodic appeal and rhythmic energy undoubtedly have something to do with his Czech roots...but he also had a genuine understanding of symphonic development and real contrapuntal skill." Hurwitz observes that "as the predominance of minor keys suggests, his music has passion and an emotional depth that recalls Beethoven without ever descending into mere imitation. Part of the reason for his distinctiveness stems from his skill at orchestration."...The symphonic music of Kalliwoda is "thrilling, and it strikingly anticipates or echoes so much of 19th century music--from Berlioz to Dvorák to Wagner, and even Sibelius..."[1]
Kalivoda was a highly prolific composer, and was held in high regard during his lifetime by such eminent contemporaries as Robert Schumann. In all, his works number in the hundreds, of which there are about 250 works or sets of works with opus numbers.
His compositions included operas, symphonies, concert overtures—one of them, commissioned for the occasion, was used to close the first concert, in 1842, of the New York Philharmonic —as well as music for piano, piano concertos, concertinos for violin and for oboe, music for the church, lieder, choral music and various other vocal and instrumental works.