Clavichord Solo
Clavichord + ...
For beginners

Johann Gottfried Vierling

All Compositions

Compositions for: Clavichord

by popularity
6 Keyboard Sonatas
Johann Gottfried Vierling (January 25, 1750 – November 22, 1813) was a German organist and composer.
Vierling was born in Metzels. From 1763 he studied at the Lyzeum in Schmalkalden. In 1768 he succeeded his teacher Johann Nikolaus Tischer (1707–74) as organist in Schmalkalden. He later continued his musical studies with Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach and Johann Philipp Kirnberger. Vierling died in Schmalkalden.
Vierling composed several collections of easy organ pieces, a four-voice organ chorale book (1790) and cembalo music such as two trios, one quartet and six sonatas. Two handwritten annual volumes of Kirchenkantaten are preserved. He also published a handbook on the art of basso continuo, "Allgemein faßlicher Unterricht im Generalbaß".
Among Vierling's students was Johann Christian Friedrich Hæffner, who became a famous musician in Sweden.