Mezzo Solo
Mezzo + ...
For beginners

Colette Mourey

All Compositions

Compositions for: Mezzo

Colette Mourey (born 1954) is a French classical guitarist, music educator, musicologist and composer.
Born in Kenitra (Marocco), Mourey studied musicology at the Sorbonne under Edith Weber and passed the agrégation. First a classical guitarist and student of Uruguayan guitarist Oscar Cacères, she is also a pianist.
As a teacher, she teaches writing, aesthetics and music didactics at the Université de Franche-Comté and the École supérieure du professorat et de l'éducation [fr]. She is also involved with the "Passeurs d'Art" association for the creation of free children's orchestras.
For her research, she starts from works on the atonal music of her teacher Julien Falk to develop a new musical system called "hypertonality". This is based on spiral scales (in amplitudes higher than the octave), radically transforming atonal counterpoint techniques. This allows the reintroduction of "natural consonances" within a contemporary language, which contributes to bringing contemporary music closer to the "general public".
She is the author of numerous books on musicology and teaching.
As a composer, she is the author of more than 1000 works (published at the éditions Bergmann, Reift Marcophon, Soldano, Delatour, and Profs editions. In 2012, she won the First Prize of the International Competition for Instrumentalists and Composers "Music and Earth" in Sofia (Bulgaria). From 2012 to 2014, she has been awarded by the IBLA Foundation for her works Estudios Festivos; Homenaje a Manuel Ponce (guitar) in 2012, Variations In Memoriam (guitar) in 2013, and Bucoliques (harpsichord) in 2014
Research books
Teaching books
Scores series (partial list)
The list below is not exhaustive