Mezzo Solo
Mezzo + ...
For beginners

Joseph Boulnois

All Compositions

Compositions for: Mezzo

Joseph Boulnois (28 January 1884 – 20 October 1918) was a French organist and composer.
Boulnois attended the Conservatoire de Paris, where he studied counterpoint with Georges Caussade and organ with Louis Vierne. In 1906, he married the pianist Jane Chevalier, and they had a son the following year, Michel Boulnois, who also became a composer and organist.
In 1908, he was appointed to the organ of the Église Sainte-Élisabeth-de-Hongrie [fr], in the 3rd arrondissement of Paris. He stayed there a short time and was appointed to the organ of the Église Saint-Louis-d'Antin [fr] in the 9th arrondissement. In 1909, he was singing conductor at the Opéra-Comique. He remained very active as a soloist, notably as co-founder with Marc de Ranse, of the Concerts spirituels de Saint-Louis d'Antin. He also played in the Opéra-Comique and performed in the Église Saint-Dominique de Paris [fr] church in the 14th arrondissement.
After the beginning of the First World War, Boulnois was mobilised at the Février Hospital of Châlons-sur-Marne, where he was a nurse from 1 January 1915. Appointed a corporal on 26 March 1915, he became a sergeant on 19 October 1916.
During this period, Boulnois produced his most important works: the Sonate pour piano, the Suite en 5 parties for cello and piano, and the Trio for violin, cello and piano.
Having contracted the 1918 flu pandemic, Boulnois was hospitalised on 15 October 1918. He died five days later, three weeks before the Armistice of 11 November 1918.