Mezzo Solo
Mezzo + ...
For beginners

Joseph Mayseder

All Compositions

Compositions for: Mezzo

Joseph Mayseder (27 October 1789 – 21 November 1863) was an Austrian violin virtuoso and composer.
Mayseder showed musical promise from an early age, and was a student of Joseph Suche (1797), Paul Wranitzky (1798) and Ignaz Schuppanzigh. By the age of eleven, he was performing in public concerts at the Augarten in Vienna. He received lessons in composition from Emanuel Aloys Förster.
In 1810, he was appointed concertmaster of the Vienna Court Opera. In 1816, he was the violin soloist of the Hofburg Palace chapel orchestra, which he conducted from 1836. He was a major quartette player, as well as a teacher and composer for his instrument. Among his students were the highly esteemed Heinrich Wilhelm Ernst.
Mayseder was the recipient of multiple awards and honorary memberships. He was appointed to the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome, along with Franz Liszt and others. He was awarded the Knight's Cross of the Order of Franz Joseph in 1862, and was an honorary member of the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde. He was one of 51 composers who contributed to the Vaterländischer Künstlerverein.
He was buried in a grave of honour in the Central Cemetery in Vienna. The Maysedergasse in the Viennese Innere Stadt was named after him in 1876.
Concert Music
String quartets
String quintets
Violin and piano
Piano trios
Piano quartets
Church music