Piano Solo
Piano + ...
For beginners

Johann Bernhard Bach

All Compositions

Compositions for: Piano

Johann Bernhard Bach (23 May 1676 – 11 June 1749) was a German composer, and second cousin of J. S. Bach.
Johann Bernhard Bach was born in Erfurt in 1676 (most probably in November), in the house named "Zu den drei Rosen" (The Three Roses), in Junkersand Street, and was baptized on 25 November 1676 in Erfurt's Merchant's Church (Kaufmannskirche). He – like his younger brother Johann Christoph, born in 1685 – received his early musical tuition from his father Johann Aegidius Bach. After attending the Schola Mercatorum at Erfurt he entered Erfurt's major secondary school at that time, Ratsgymnasium. As early as 1695, at the age of 18, he became the organist at the Kaufmannskirche. In 1699 he moved to Magdeburg where he was appointed organist for St. Catharine's Church. In 1703 John William III, Duke of Saxe-Eisenach called him to Eisenach to serve as harpsichordist at the ducal court. In Eisenach he also became the organist at St. George's Church, succeeding his uncle Johann Christoph Bach.
From 1708 to 1712 Johann Bernhard Bach worked together with Georg Philipp Telemann who held, first, the position of the leader of the violin section, and, from August 1709, that of a conductor (Kapellmeister) at Eisenach's ducal orchestra.
On 6 August 1716 Johann Bernhard Bach married Johanna Sophia Siefer. Three children were born into the family.
In 1741 the ducal orchestra was dissolved, which meant that Johann Bernhard continued to work exclusively as choirmaster and organist, until his death, apparently still receiving the ducal allowance of 100 Thalers per year.
With his famous cousin Johann Sebastian Bach Johann Bernhard kept a life-long friendship. In 1715 he acted as godfather for Johann Sebastian's son Johann Gottfried Bernhard, whilst Johann Sebastian became godfather to Johann Bernhard's eldest son Johann Ernst in 1722. This latter was to succeed his father Johann Bernhard as organist at St. George's Church in Eisenach.
Most of his musical output has been lost, but amongst his surviving music there are four orchestral suites. It is known that J.S. Bach had individual parts prepared for performance by his orchestra.
His musical style has been described as being similar to that of Telemann.
The surviving orchestral suites (overtures) are as follows:
They are thought to have been written before 1730.
Surviving keyboard music:
Two fugues composed by Johann Bernhard Bach also survive.
- "Ouvertures", Johann Bernhard Bach : L'Achéron / François Joubert-Caillet, Ricercar