Violin Solo
Violin + ...
For beginners

Henri Collet

All Compositions

Compositions for: Violin

Henri Collet (French: [kɔlɛ]; 5 November 1885 – 23 November 1951) was a French composer and music critic who lived in Paris.
Born in Paris, Collet first studied at the Conservatory of Music at Bordeaux before going to Madrid to study Spanish literature with Ramón Menéndez Pidal and composition with Felipe Pedrell and Federico Olmeda. Later, teachers in Paris included Déodat de Séverac, Gabriel Fauré and Manuel de Falla. In 1907, he gave his first public recitals as a pianist in Burgos and Madrid. In 1913, he earned his doctorate at the university of Bordeaux with a study about musical mysticism in sixteenth-century Spain.
Besides composing and writing, Collet taught at the Institut d'études hispaniques and later at the Collège Chaptal. He received a number of awards including a silver medal from the Faculté de lettres of the university of Bordeaux (1908), the Prix Pierre Aubry (1913), and the composition prize of the city of Paris for his stage work La Chèvre d'or (1936).
His music is marked by his admiration for Spanish culture – a result of his studies and travels over many years on Spain. In France, he contributed to the reputation of Spanish composers including Albéniz, Granados, Mompou, Nin and Turina. Today his music is seldom performed.
Collet is best remembered for his two 1920 articles in Comoedia in which he coined the term Les Six to designate a group of young composers at the Conservatoire de Paris.