Violin Solo
Violin + ...
For beginners

Philipp Jarnach

All Compositions

Compositions for: Violin

by alphabet
Sonata for Violin Solo, Op.13BalladeViolin Sonata, Op.9String Quartet, Op.16
Philipp Jarnach (26 July 1892 – 17 December 1982) was a composer of modern music.
Jarnach was born in Noisy-le-Sec, France, the son of a Spanish sculptor and a Flemish mother. Until 1914 he lived in Paris, where he studied piano under Édouard Risler and harmony under Albert Lavignac at the Conservatoire de Paris. During the First World War he was a student of Ferruccio Busoni in Zürich. He later completed the opera Doktor Faust which Busoni had left unfinished on his death in 1924.
In the 1920s Jarnach worked in Berlin as a pianist, conductor and composer. In 1927 he became a teacher in composition at the Hochschule für Musik Köln. In 1949 he founded the Hamburger Musikhochschule (Hamburg Music Academy) which he directed until 1959 and at which he taught until 1970. His students included Ivan Rebroff (Hans Rolf Rippert as he was then, during his attendance at the Hochschule between 1950 and 1958), Kurt Weill, Otto Luening, Wilhelm Maler, Bernd Alois Zimmermann, Jürg Baur, Walter Steffens, Colin Brumby, Eberhard Werdin and Nikos Skalkottas. He died in Börnsen.
Jarnach composed a Sinfonia brevis, a prelude for large orchestra, a quartet and a quintet for strings, further chamber music, especially for violin and piano, and vocal works.