Mezzo Solo
Mezzo + ...
For beginners

Saudades do Brasil

Composer: Milhaud Darius

Instruments: Piano

Tags: Suite

Download free scores:

Complete Score PDF 0 MB
The Saudades do Brasil (1920), Op. 67, are a suite of twelve dances for piano by Darius Milhaud. Composed after Milhaud's visit to Brazil in 1917-1918, each dance is based on a duple tango or samba rhythm and bears the name of a place or neighborhood in Rio de Janeiro. The title of the suite uses the Portuguese term saudade. In 1921 Milhaud arranged the suite for orchestra (op. 67b).
The work is well known for its use of polytonality, though sections may also be considered extended tonality or, "harmonic color".
There exists a transcription for orchestra with a brief added overture.