Mezzo Solo
Mezzo + ...
For beginners

Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom

Composer: Rachmaninoff Sergei

Instruments: Mixed chorus

Tags: Sacred choruses Choruses Religious music


Download free scores:

Complete Score PDF 5 MB1. The Great Ektenya PDF 0 MB2. Praise the Lord, O my soul PDF 0 MB3. The only-begotten PDF 0 MB4a,4b. In Thy Kingdom PDF 0 MB5. Come, Bow PDF 0 MB6. Lord, Save the Faithful, and Holy God PDF 0 MB7. The Two-Fold and following Ektenii PDF 0 MB8. Which Cherubim PDF 0 MB9. The Suppliant Ektenya PDF 0 MB10. I believe (Creed) PDF 0 MB11. The Grace at Peace PDF 0 MB12. We Sing to Thee PDF 0 MB13. It is Right for All Men and All Things PDF 0 MB14. Our Father PDF 0 MB15. One Church PDF 0 MB16. Praise God in the Heavens PDF 0 MB17. Blessed be the hosts, and We see the true light PDF 0 MB18. And our faith shall show forth PDF 0 MB19. Cry the name of the Lord PDF 0 MB20. Praise the Father and the Faithful PDF 0 MB



We Sing to Thee (No.12). Mixed chorus (Unknown)
Liturgy of St John Chrysostom, Op. 31 (Russian: Литургия Иоанна Златоуста), is a musical work by Sergei Rachmaninoff, one of his two major unaccompanied choral works (the other being his All-Night Vigil). The Divine Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom is the primary worship service of the Eastern Orthodox Church.
Rachmaninoff composed the work in July, 1910 at his summer estate Ivanovka, following his American tour of 1909. Writing to his friend Nikita Morozov, Rachmaninoff said of the work, "I have been thinking about the Liturgy for a long time and for a long time I strove to write it. I started to work on it somehow by chance and then suddenly became fascinated with it. And then I finished it very quickly. Not for a long time have I written anything with such pleasure."
The work premiered November 25, 1910 in Moscow. Russian Orthodox ecclesiastical authorities strongly objected to the work's "spirit of modernism" and refused to sanction it for use during church services. Rachmaninoff did nothing to promote the work himself, and it soon fell into obscurity.
A portion of the Liturgy was given in concert performance in New York on January 24, 1914 by the male choir of the Russian Cathedral of St. Nicholas, conducted by Ivan Gorokhov.
A new edition, reconstructed from surviving part books at an Orthodox monastery in the U.S. and microfilm at the U.S. Library of Congress, was published by Anthony Antolini in 1988. This reconstruction was the subject of a PBS documentary entitled "Rediscovering Rachmaninoff", produced by KTEH television in San Jose, California.
The Liturgy consists of twenty movements for unaccompanied mixed choir. Three contain solo passages: Movement 2 (Blagoslovi, dushe moia, Ghospoda/Bless the Lord, O my soul) for alto, Movement 10 (Veruiu/The Nicene Creed) for Bass, and Movement 12 (Tebie poiem/To Thee we sing), for treble or soprano. Two (Movements 14 and 19) are scored for double choir.
The twenty movements are these: