Violin Solo
Violin + ...
For beginners

Chigi codex

Composer: Various

Instruments: Voice

Tags: Mass Religious music Motet Antiphon Sacred hymns Hymn Sequence

Download free scores:

The Chigi codex is a music manuscript originating in Flanders. According to Herbert Kellman, it was created sometime between 1498 and 1503, probably at the behest of Philip I of Castile. It is currently housed in the Vatican Library under the call number Chigiana, C. VIII. 234.
The Chigi codex is notable not only for its vivid and colorful illuminations, which were probably done in Ghent in the workshop of the Master of the Hortulus Animae, but also for its very clear and legible musical notation. It contains a nearly complete catalogue of the polyphonic masses by Johannes Ockeghem and a collection of five relatively early L'homme armé mass settings, including Ockeghem's.
Several folia, comprising eight works, were added to the original codex at some point after the manuscript's original creation. These are indicated as such in the list below.
The two coats of arms in the page from Missa Ecce ancilla Domini refer to the Fernández de Córdoba family.
A facsimile of the Chigi Codex in seven parts is available to view online, in the International Music Scores Library Project, or IMSLP. The Petrucci Music Library/IMSLP is run by Project Petrucci LLC in the U.S.A.
The manuscript contains the following works (this list is distilled from that found in Kellman's article):